top of page

Working on my studio wall.

As my project has developed i have become more confident working on a much larger scale than I am used to. Over the past few weeks I have slowly been putting together a large wall pieces in my studio space. I have photographed each step, as I considered each section to be a piece of its own. This is my way of following a wave cycle.

I used sheets and strips of canvas to create a 3D type wave, that was large and imposing on my studio wall. after spending time nailing the the material to the wall, I began to paint over the top of the surface that I have created a wave that looks almost like it is moving and rolling into my studio wall.

I have really enjoyed creating something so large and intense. The piece looked very out of place in the studio space, almost to big, for where i had put it and as though i took the wave out of it natural place and installed it into my studio space.

The piece was very challenging to create, I found it hard to walk on such a large scale but enjoyed creating something that was; in my opinion was a little out of my comfort zone. I continued with my themes of experimentation, using layers of paint to create depth and using bold brush stokes to create bold marks. After working so hard to create an intense overwhelming piece, I think that it was very successful piece and I have gained some confidence in my own abilities.


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page