top of page

Looking at Michael Porter... Again

Throughout my project Michael Porter has been the artist that I have referred to while I have been development of my work.

I have looked at Porter because of his use of paint and the way he takes inspiration from natural environments that he has a connection with. Porters work is made up of layers of paint and many detailed bush strokes to create depth and texture to his work. One of his techniques to create surfaces and textures, is to use a mix of Oil Acrylic paint and then to paint on top with gouache paint. The interaction of the different paints, allows for rises and falls on the canvas emulates the area of nature he is studying.

I have taken this technique and started to incorporate it into my work. I am Preparing to do a large canvas pieces using this technique, but i have started by doing studies in my sketchbook and on A3 canvas boards. So far I have really enjoy experimenting with different thickness of paints, and different types of paint to create something new and more abstract.

I have focused on taking inspiration from the coast and watching waves, then transferring the images i have in my head on to the canvas. I have really enjoyed using some of Michael porters techniques to develop my work, and create new ideas.


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page