top of page

Freestanding Concertina Painting

While I have been working on what colours and techniques I would like to develop through this project, I have also been thinking about new ways that I can present my work. This is when I came across the idea of creating a concertina, 3D, freestanding piece.

I began to do some research into artists who had created similar pieces of artwork, this is when I found Catherine Nash artwork Aftermath. I like how Catherine Nash's piece of work could act as a freestanding piece or as a sketchbook.

To start my 3D concertina painting I pieced together several pieces of folded card to create a structure that would stand. I then used quick brush strokes to create waves with bold marks and lines.

Once I completed my first concertina piece I decided to do a second smaller one. For this piece I decided to change the format, and instead of being inspired by waves, I was inspired by running water.

I used some of the techniques from my initial work within the piece. I layered PVA glue with tissue to create textures, I then painted on top of the tissue to create bold lines and creative marks.

I enjoyed creating both pieces of work, but i think that my first attempt was the most successful.


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page